CBST-VIT University, Vellore,TN, India & IIT Madras, Chennaï, India

Pr. Mr. A. Vijayalakshmi, Founder CBST: Master in Chemistry, Indian Institute of Chemistry Calcutta in 1966, obtained a doctorate from the University of Burgundy, Dijon, France in 1974 and then his D.Sc. of Compiegne University of Technology, France in 1980, combined with UNIVERSITY OF UPPSALA, SWEDEN. She worked as a research engineer at CNRS, National Research Council Group, UTC, France from 1979 to 1990. She became a professor at UTC in 1990, and in 2001 she became professor emeritus at UTC. She is a visiting professor at the University of Arizona, Tucson, United States, and Anna University, Chennai, India. She has also been visiting professor at Laval University, Quebec, Canada (1986-1987) and visiting researcher at Wageningen University, the Netherlands (1975) and at the University of New South Wales, Sydney , Australia (1983). She was a researcher at the University of Uppsala, Sweden, under a Franco-Swedish collaboration agreement, from 1977 to 1983. She was a biotechnology consultant at VITU from 2001 to 2004. She is the base a collaboration agreement (MOU) signed between VITU and UTC covering all areas and implemented very actively in the form of exchanges of professors. She is the creator of the Center for Biological Separations Technology (CBST), a center of excellence of VIT University, Vellore, India (, created by the Indian Government, Ministry of Science and Technology, India. in 2005 with the goal of developing targeted research with product development goals to bridge the gap between industry and academia in the areas of bioseparation. Recently, this center has been recognized for its excellent performance and has been promoted as an advanced center by DST. MA Vijayalakshmi is an eminent scientist, and received the prestigious “PIERCE AWARD” established by the International Society of Molecular Recognition (USA), in 1999 for outstanding achievements in the field of Affinity, Technology and Bio-recognition at the international level . She received the SBCN Grand Prize in 2010 and 2012. She holds more than 150 publications and 12 patents to her credit, all dealing with biospecific pseudo-affinity systems. Chief coordinator, early translation Accelerator, IITM Bioincubator.